Go Back
+ servings
gluten free crispy hearts on a white surface surrounded by marshmallows

Rice Krispie Valentine treats

Rice Krispie Valentine treats are so quick and easy to make. The perfect marshmallow crispy heart-shaped treat. Perfect if you are looking for some Valentine's day inspiration or, as a cute little homemade food gift.
5 from 1 vote
Print Pin
Course: Snack
Cuisine: American
Keyword: gluten free
Prep Time: 15 minutes
Cook Time: 5 minutes
Servings: 12 Hearts
Author: Amanda

Equipment

  • Heart Shaped cookie cutter
  • Baking sheet lined with greaseproof paper

Ingredients

  • 200 grams Marshmallows
  • 100 grams Rice Krispies Gluten free
  • 50 grams Butter
  • ½ teaspoon Vanilla extract
  • 50 grams White Chocolate You can use your preferred amount of chocolate.
  • Sprinkles Optional
  • Food coloring Optional

Instructions

  • Over medium heat slowly melt Butter and Marshmallows in a non stick pan. Stirring continually to ensure it doesn't stick to the bottom of the pan.
  • When the marshmallows have fully melted add in the vanilla extract.
  • In a large bowl mix rice Krispies and melted marshmallows until fully combined.
  • Place the rice Krispy mix into your prepared baking sheet and pat until compact together roughly around 2 cms thick and leave to set.
  • Once the Rice Krispies have fully set using your cookie cutter press firmly to get your desired size treats.
  • Melt chocolate in the microwave in a small bowl. You can drizzle with chocolate or dip the treats in chocolate. Then decorate the treats as desired with your favorite sprinkles.

Notes

Can I make them in advance?
Yes, Once they have set store in an air-tight container for up to 5 days.
Can I make them gluten and dairy free?
Yes, You can substitute the butter and chocolate for your preferred dairy free brand.
Is Rice Krispies gluten free?
Kelloggs Rice Krispies are made with malt from Barley which may contain gluten and therefore not gluten-free. Although there are many brands that have gluten-free rice Krispy's that are safe. Some store brands may be gluten free but I advise you to always check the label to be sure that they do not have any gluten-containing ingredients.