It can be difficult to find gluten-free food on the go. Here we are exploring the Gluten free Subway menu. So does Subway have gluten free bread, and what are the Gluten free options at Subway?
So let's explore what is available on the main Subway menu. What gluten-free options can be found such as bread and sandwich fillings?
Subway is a well known sandwich chain started in 1965 by Dr. Peter Buck and Fred DeLuca. It has grown into a popular franchise that now boasts over 40,000 stores all over the world.
Disclaimer: This post is for informational purposes and the information provided was correct at the time of publishing for gluten-free Subway in the UK. It is important to contact your local Subway to discuss any concerns before consuming any food or check out their allergen information. If you are in the US you can check out the allergen information here.
Does subway have gluten free bread
Subway has introduced a gluten free bread option to the choice of bread available. Subway gluten free bread is only available in the 6-inch only, so no footlong options if you are gluten free.
Subway's website state "Our Gluten Free Bread is manufactured in a gluten free facility, however, as other ingredients in our stores contain gluten and products are prepared on shared equipment, our Gluten Free Breads may come in contact with gluten as we prepare your meal."
Subway gluten free menu
Grabbing a gluten free sandwich on the go is always a challenge and now that there are gluten free options at subway this makes it a little easier when out and about. I have looked into subway allergen menu to put together an easy to read list of what is gluten free at subway.
Gluten free Meat, Poultry egg, and fish
- Roast Chicken Breast Strips
- Turkey Breast
- Maple Cured Steaky Bacon
- Breakfast Back Bacon
- Buffalo Chicken
- Beef Brisket smoked flavor
- Big Beef
- Tuna with light mayo
- Egg Omelet
- Poached Eggs
- T.L.C -Tastes like chicken ( not the chicken tikka option)
All Cheese and Vegetables available do not contain gluten
Gluten free sauces and Condiments
There are many sauces to choose from when building your sub sandwich but if you are wondering what subway sauces are gluten free then I have put together a list of the sauces that don't contain gluten.
Gluten free list
- Chipotle Southwest Sauce
- Caesar Sauce
- Honey and Wholegrain Mustard Sauce
- Lite Mayonnaise
- Sticky Sweet Chilli Sauce
- Sweet Onion Sauce
- Tomato Ketchup
- Sriracha Sauce
- Plant-Based Garlic Aioli
- Marinara Sauce
- Blue Cheese Sauce
- Garlic Infused Oil
- Southwest Seasoning
- Sea Salt / Mixed Peppercorns / Chilli Flakes
- Multi-Seed Mix
More Eating out Gluten free Guides
Gluten free Soups and extras
- Carrot and Coriander
- Leek and Potato
- Cream of Mushroom
- Hash Browns
- Crinkle Wedges
Food to Avoid
As with anywhere that prepares and serves food with gluten there is always a risk of cross-contamination and is a personal choice if you wish to eat at subway. I have put together a list of food and sauces that contain gluten in the ingredients.
Not gluten free at Subway
- All breads except the gluten free bread option
- All Cookie, Donuts, and Muffins - All contain wheat
- Teriyaki Glazed Chicken Breast - Contains wheat
- Chicken Tikka - Contains wheat
- Nacho Chicken Bites - Contains wheat
- Meatballs - Contains wheat
- Breakfast Sausage - Contains wheat
- Steak - Contains barley
- Coronation Chicken Tikka - Contains wheat
- Barbacoa Beef - Contains Barley
- Pig in Blankets - Contains wheat
- Meatless Meatballs - Contains wheat & barley
- Plant Patty - Contains wheat
- P.I.B Plants in blanket - Contains wheat
- T.L.S Tastes like steak - Contains wheat
- T.L.C tikka Tastes like chicken tikka - Contains wheat
- Hickory Smoked BBQ Sauce - Contains barley
- HP Brown Sauce - Contains barley & rye
- Crispy Onions - Contains wheat
- Cream of Chicken soup - Contains wheat & barley
- Minestrone soup - Contains wheat
- Red Pepper and Tomato soup - Contains barley
- Tomato soup - Contains wheat
- Wild Mushroom soup - Contains wheat & barley
- Beef Goulash soup - Contains wheat & barley
Gluten free Subway Review
Subway is making an effort to try and accommodate the gluten-free community and offer gluten free options. Although there is always a risk of cross-contamination. Always make your server aware of your needs and request that they change gloves and use seperate utensils when preparing your sandwich to reduce the risk of cross contamination.
I would love to know your experience and review when ordering from Subway good or bad. Please share your review in the comments below.